Meet the team

The work of the Torch Trophy Trust is administered by a Board of Trustees which works closely with sporting bodies across the United Kingdom.

Trust members are committed to supporting the basic premise that volunteers are the lifeblood of community sport and that their work should be appropriately recognised. The Trustee Board comprises former sports professionals and corporate experts and is enthusiastically supported by Trust President, Sir Bobby Charlton CBE.


Screen Shot 2015-06-17 at 13.44.38 Sir Bobby Charlton CBE

Sir Bobby is famous world-wide as one of the world’s greatest footballers and accepted an invitation to be the Trust’s first President in 1999. Since then, he has been a consistent advocate of the Trust’s work while continuing to carry out wider work as an ambassador for sport and sportsmanship. Sir Bobby rose to fame as a footballer with Manchester United where he was lauded as one of the legendary ‘Busby Babes’. At the age of 20, he survived the Munich air disaster in 1958 in which 8 of his playing colleagues lost their lives.

He won a host of trophies while at Old Trafford including the European Cup in 1968 when he scored twice in a 4-1 win over Benfica in the final at Wembley Stadium.  He was also  an integral member of England’s World Cup winning team of 1966 and scored of 49 goals for his country in 106 appearances.

The Board and Trustees

Screen Shot 2015-06-17 at 13.48.46Chair – Paul Dimond CMG

Paul became Chair of the Torch Trophy Trust in 2013.  He has served as an Officer of Her Majesty’s Diplomatic Service and was was assigned to Japan for a total of 16 years, starting as a Japanese Language Officer in 1966, He has also served at the Department of Trade, as Second Secretary for Economic Affairs in Stockholm and as Assistant Head of Far Eastern Department of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, responsible for China, Japan, Korea and Mongolia.

Paul concluded his career in the Diplomatic Service as British Ambassador to the Phillippines between 2002-04. He was appointed Deputy Chair of DAKS Simpson Group plc of London in October 2007 and is also Deputy Chair of DAKS Limited and the Grantee of Royal Warrants to DAKS Limited from Her Majesty The Queen, His Royal Highness The Duke of Edinburgh and His Royal Highness The Prince of Wales.

CBVice-Chair – Chris Baillieu MBE

Chris is a four-time Cambridge Blue and won a silver medal in Rowing at the 1976 Olympic Games. He also won gold at the  World Championships in 1977 and has a total of five World Championship medals to his name. Chris served as the first Chair of British Swimming, from 2004 until 2008; a period when the sport saw a resurgence in its international success at all levels. Apart from his activities in Rowing and Swimming, Chris plays a leading role in many other sport areas, including the Sports Aid Foundation, and was actively involved in assisting in the London Bid to stage the 2012 Olympic Games.

He has also been a TV commentator with the BBC, a Steward of Henley Royal Regatta and a member of World Rowing’s (FISA) Media. In addition to his work for the torch Trophy Trust, Chris is a trustee and Vice-Chair of SportsAid, the national charity responsible for raising and distributing funds for talented young people.


Nicolas Adamson, CVO, OBE

Keith Daniell

Patricia Day, OBE

John James, OBE

Ray Kiddell, OBE

Barry Newcombe

Phil Mepham

Alaina MacGregor

Mark Jones

Sir Trevor Booking


Honorary Secretary – Sallie Barker MBE

Administrative Volunteer – Hayley Morris

Sport and Recreation Liaison – Eleanor Newton

Comments are closed.